

City of Tacoma Community's Police Advisory Committee Special Meeting Minutes

Monday January 16, 2022
Virtual Zoom Meeting
6:00 p.m.

The CPAC is comprised of Chair Stephen Hagberg, Vice Chair Shayna Raphael, and Committee Members Louis Cooper, Jill Jackson, Jeffery Sargent, Nate Robinson, Adrian Lavergne, Angela Mealing, Allen McKenzie, and Jabari Hampton

Members Present: Chair Stephen Hagberg, Jeffery Sargent, Louis Cooper, Nate Robinson, Adrian Lavergne, Angela Mealing, Allen McKenzie, Jabari Hampton, Shayna Raphael, Jill Jackson,

Members Absent:

Staff Present: Staff Liaison Bucoda Warren, Asst. Chief Scruggs, Tacoma Police; Lt. Gary Roberts, Tacoma Police;

Staff Absent: N/A

Called to order 6:08pm

Welcome and Introductions

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the agenda for the CPAC meeting held on February 16, 2022. Passed 6:10pm

Approval of the Minutes

Approval of the minutes of the January 10, 2022 CPAC meeting. Motion passed 6:11pm

BRIEFING ITEMS

City Manager's Office

-Liaison Warren let the members know that there may be temporary staffing changes as he moves to fill an interim role for the Mayor's office for the next couple months. All other liaisons remain unchanged.

Tacoma Police Department

- 6:15pm, Lt. Roberts gave a presentation on the IA complaint process and investigations and responded to questions.

CPAC BYLAWS

Motion: CM Second: CM

Motion passed by unanimous consent 7:12pm

COMMITTEE PRIORITIES

-7:12pm, member discussed priorities and subcommittees.

SUBCOMMITTEES

- -Data and Trends
 - -Stephen Hagberg
 - -Angela Mealing
 - -Shayna Raphael
 - -Nate Robinson
- -Oversight and Policy
 - -Shayna Raphael
 - -Louis Cooper
 - -Allen McKenzie
 - -Jill Jackson
 - -Angela Mealing
- -Outreach and Diversity
 - -Adrian Lavergne
 - -Angela Mealing
 - -Jeffery Sargent
 - -Louis Cooper
 - -Allen McKenzie
- -Police Training and Culture
 - Nate Robinson
 - -Jabari Hampton
 - -Jeffery Sargent
 - -Adrian Lavergne
 - -Jill Jackson

Motion: CM Cooper Second: CM Jackson Motions passed individually: approx. 7:35pm.

PUBLIC COMMENT

-7:40pm, 4 members of the public gave comment. 7:52pm comments were closed.

TOPICS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS

- -legislative updates
- -detective Ryan Lane Visit
- -future chief visit
- -national night out

ADJOURNMENT

Motion: CM Cooper Second: CM Raphael Motion passed 7:57pm

Stephen Hagberg, Chair

Stephen We Hagberg

Bucoda Warren Staff Linion

Bucoda Warren, Staff Liaison